Junos OS

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  ex4550

Posted 07-10-2020 09:34

complete noob here coming from the cisco world. can an ex4550 with the 2 port 40g sfp insert use a 40g breakout cable (4x10g) in this system? if so how do i channelize this? i have read enough to realize i need to do this and can do it in cisco in seconds but need help with junos. any help would be appreciated. 

• 2.  RE: ex4550

Posted 07-10-2020 09:56

Hi Blueman,

Have you tried 

edit chassis fpc fpc-slot pic pic-slot]
    user@switch# set port port-number channel-speed speed

and set the speed 10g to have the port channelized to 10g channels ?

https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos/topics/topic-map/switches-interface-port.html

If this solves your problem, please mark this post as "Accepted Solution."

• 3.  RE: ex4550

Posted 07-10-2020 11:15

the question i have is about the port number. in my system the 40g qsfp is et-0/1/1

what port number would i use?  et-0/1/1:0 -3 or something else? cant seem to make this work

• 4.  RE: ex4550

Posted 07-10-2020 11:21

when i do this i get unsupported platform (ex4550-32t) 

• 5.  RE: ex4550

Posted 07-10-2020 11:25

junipererror.png

• 6.  RE: ex4550

Posted 07-10-2020 11:42

Hi Blueman,

Thanks for the quick response.

Can you please find the below details, this might helps in EX series devices.

Channelize Block of Ports or Individual Port

You can either configure a port as a single interface (non channelized interface) or partition the port into
    smaller data channels or multiple interfaces (channelized interfaces). On switches platform, you can
    channelize an individual port or block of ports or quad ports based on the platform.

EX4550.PNGEX45501.PNG

Interface Naming Conventions
    Each interface name includes a unique identifier and follows a naming convention. When you configure