Routing

last person joined: 14 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  Correct CoS field for MPLS

Posted 06-18-2016 11:31

Hi,

I am studying CoS at the minute and wondered if anyone could help clarify something for me.

I want to put my network control traffic into an LSP which I can then traffic engineer to a high level of protection and low latency path

I want to apply CoS to the network control traffic

So I have an output filter set on Lo0 to apply CoS to any traffic leaving Lo0 towards the range of addresses my other core node loopbacks are on:

eg.

term ldp {
    from {
    destination-address {
    10.0.0.0/24;
    }
    protocol [ tcp udp ];
    port ldp;
    }
    then {
    forwarding-class network-control;
    accept;
    dscp 0x38;
    }

----------

My question is: Given that I am putting this traffic through an LSP, in order to get the next node in the path to honour the CoS, should I be setting this to EXP instead of DSCP?

I would assume the next node will be looking at the MPLS header, expecting EXP to be defined and, upon not seeing a defined EXP, it will ignore the DSCP I have set.

Is this the case?

• 2.  RE: Correct CoS field for MPLS
    Best Answer

Posted 06-20-2016 19:23

Hi,

An LSR would only look at the MPLS header to label-switch the packet, thus any CoS required needs MPLS EXP bits to be set.

As part of the CoS Configuration, you can configure and apply rewrite rules to mark/re-mark the packets accordingly on the egress interface such that Core facing MPLS interfaces gets MPLS EXP bits set based on the forwarding class the packet entered [either through BA or MF classifier].

Example:

class-of-service {
    	rewrite-rules {
    		exp CORE_EXP_REWRITE {
    			forwarding-class NC {
    				loss-priority low code-point 110;
    			}
    		}
    	}
    	interfaces x/x/x {