Routing
Highlighted
Routing

OSPF Neighborship with duplicate addresses

‎05-30-2020 02:40 AM

Hi Team,

I am new with the JUNOS. i configured ospf between two connected routers and by mistake i configured the same ip address on both the interfaces .  but the ospf neighbourship stuck at Exstart state. In the other vendors (CISCO, Huawei) this is not the behaviour.

can anyone please explain me dispite of dupticate address how both the routers reached at Extart State? 

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Routing

Re: OSPF Neighborship with duplicate addresses

[ Edited ]
‎05-30-2020 05:23 AM

Hi Sunil, 

Greetings, 

To answer you question, the routers use the interface IP's to establish OSPF and at this stage it is struck because both DR and BDR are having the same IP address which is a misconfiguration. Ideally this can be identified using the outputs of monitor traffic where you will observe that the IN and OUT packet have the same IP address.

This conflict is not letting OSPF transition to next state and would not allow the full adjacency to complete. 

r@R1_re> show ospf neighbor 
Address Interface State ID Pri Dead
10.10.10.2 ge-0/0/0.0 ExStart 128.93.23.183 128 33 >> Yes this is expected.