Routing

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  VRF RIB group leaking into another VRF - Dual Stack

Posted 07-13-2018 08:50

Here is the scenario.  

We are trying to deploy dual stack IPv6 to our customers.  We have an INTERNET_PUBLIC vrf and an INTERNET_PRIVATE vrf.  We have trying to dual stack all customer facing interfaces with includes customers with private and public interfaces.

I am primarily am a Cisco guy, but we recently switched our core network to Juniper.  I am still learning the nuances of Juniper and I am not quite sure where to go with this situation.  We don't want to leak the IPv4 space between the Public and Private vrfs.  We just want the IPv6 tables sharing routes with each other.

Our Private IPv4 customers are pushed through F5 CGN, but we do not have the licensing to route through the CGN box.  So we cannot point a default route for our IPv6 customers to F5 and just have it route the traffic.  

What I have been doing is trying to use RIB groups to leak INTERNET_PUBLIC .inet6.0 into INTERNET_PRIVATE.inet6.0 and vice-versa with partial success.  I can see the routes on the PE routeter between both of the VRFs, however, I am not learning BGP/default routes , only the direct routes.  

set routing-options rib-groups PUBv6_to_PRIVv6 import-rib INTERNET_PUBLIC.inet6.0
    set routing-options rib-groups PUBv6_to_PRIVv6 import-rib INTERNET_PRIVATE.inet6.0
    set routing-options rib-groups PUBv6_to_PRIVv6 import-policy P_PUBv6_to_PRIVv6
    set routing-options rib-groups PRIVv6_to_PUBv6 import-rib INTERNET_PRIVATE.inet6.0
    set routing-options rib-groups PRIVv6_to_PUBv6 import-rib INTERNET_PUBLIC.inet6.0
    set routing-options rib-groups PRIVv6_to_PUBv6 import-policy P_PRIVv6_to_PUBv6