Routing
Highlighted
Routing

When to use BGP with VPLS, or when to use BGP at all?

‎08-14-2016 08:51 PM

Firstly,

I understand that (given the ubiquitous resources on the web) it is hard to be objective at times in forums, because everyone's experience is a bit different. I'll try not to ramble --- although that's difficult at times, I'll give my background, and finally objective(s). 

So, in summary, I've mostly worked in the core for the SMB space, and periodically enterprise, but haven't really had the chance to get much exposure to the latter (enterprise). Over the past few years I've become a bit obsessive about penetrating the enterprise market and landing a solid role. Fast forward to current, and the leads are beginning to come in, but there are certain concepts that are fuzzy to me, or that I have no practical experience with at all. 

My example is a client that I have with approximately 6 metro sites, the core MPLS maintained by a certain ISP, which generically labels their solution Metro Ethernet (of course very popular now with many ISPs). Pretty generic topology, they use Cisco 1841s as PEs and handoff to our CEs: L3 Brocade switches ... this is the same for all sites. We tag voice with standard 46 DSCP, CoS 5 (or whatever the default mapping is ---- but that's probably extraneous detail).