SRX

last person joined: 4 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Basic NAT questions

Posted 07-08-2015 10:04

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Juniper and networking in general, so bear with me if this seems trivial (easy kudos in it for you).

I'm trying to set up some new time clocks for my company. These need, according to the vendor static externally-visible IP addresses (due to laziness on their part).

I'd like to set the clocks on a VLAN of their own, give them IP adresses (they are smart enough to get one themselves) then open that VLAN up to the outside, allowing communication only to a given range of IP addresses on certain ports. I have the VLAN set and configured on my core SRX550 and connected to a few access-level EX4200s. In the SRX, what would be the best way to accomplish this? Should I NAT the external IPs to internal, or can I simply open the VLAN up to be externally visible (I don't know if a NAT will break their protocol, I was told it would, and I'm not overly concerned about additional security, with the VLAN separating them from the rest of the network and por-restricted).

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I should add the SRX sits behind a NetScreen 25, I'm not sure how much that will make a difference.

#ip
    #NAT
    #vlan
    #srx550

• 2.  RE: Basic NAT questions

Posted 07-08-2015 10:48

Having the netscreen in front makes it more complicated and is probably not needed if you are leveraging an SRX550.

I did something very similar with a 550 a few years ago.  Basically I had a few devices that were replacing ISDN for radio broadcasts.  They were on their own VLAN with private IPs but needed to be publicly accessible and wide open with no ports blocked or filtered.  Here is what I did:

set security nat static rule-set ISDN-mock from zone untrust

set security nat static rule-set ISDN-mock rule device1 match destination address 88.8.8.8/32  <-- your outside IP