SRX Services Gateway
Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway

Configuration saving query

‎11-27-2019 09:30 PM

Hi All,

 

I attempted running the below command and came out from the mode but till date the firewall keeps showing a message that configuration was not saved ? If i commit the confinguration then will it get overwrited with the blank input ? Now every time i go the config mode it keeps asking me to save the config. I am worried that the below "access-profile" blank input will overwrite the existing access-profile ? Should i just proceed to commit the config ?  (Note :  I am the only user having admin rights to the firewall). Please guide.

 

configure
Entering configuration mode
Users currently editing the configuration:
root terminal u0 (pid 68040) on since 2019-05-30 10:50:09 EST, idle 17w4d 20:31
[edit]

[edit]
FW-01# edit acc
^
'acc' is ambiguous.
Possible completions:
> access Network access configuration
> access-profile Access profile for this instance
> accounting-options Accounting data configuration
[edit]
FW-01# edit access-profile ?
Possible completions:
<[Enter]> Execute this command
| Pipe through a command
[edit]
FW-01# edit access-profile

[edit access-profile]
FW-01# exit

[edit]
FW-01# exit
The configuration has been changed but not committed
Exit with uncommitted changes? [yes,no] (yes) yes

Exiting configuration mode

 

 

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway
Solution
Accepted by topic author techvin
‎12-05-2019 04:40 PM

Re: Configuration saving query

‎11-27-2019 10:06 PM
Execute "rollback 0" command to rollback any uncommitted change. To view uncommitted change use "show | compare" command
Thanks,
Nellikka
JNCIE x3 (SEC #321; SP #2839; ENT #790)
Please Mark My Solution Accepted if it Helped, Kudos are Appreciated too!!!
Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway

Re: Configuration saving query

‎11-28-2019 02:44 PM

show | compare command gives a blank output. Does rollback 0 command need a downtime to be executed ? 

Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway

Re: Configuration saving query

‎11-28-2019 06:28 PM

Rollback 0 does not need downtime, 

 

basically Juniper saves your changes in a "candidate configuration" the changes that the device is reporting have been done to that candidate configuration, if you issue a commit those changes go from candidate configuration to active configuration thus making the changes effective.

Rollback 0 all it does is clean that candidate configuration, no downtime needed no loss of data.

I help you, you help me... please share a Kudos or accepted solution whenever you feel I have helped with your problem! Smiley Happy