SRX

last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Difference between Interfaces configured to a VLAN versus VLANs with interfaces added in PORTs tab

Posted 09-30-2014 09:18

I'm new to JunOS but a veteran to ScreenOS.

I'm looking to terminate several ports to a single VLAN -- but when I do this to a new SRX240, the question that comes to mind in the GUI is,

What is the difference between configuring an interface use a selected VLAN versus including an interface in a VLANs PORT menu?

In other words:

Interfaces -> some FE/GE -> Switching Mode -> add vlan-somename

versus

Switching -> some VLAN -> Ports -> Add desired ports.

it would seem to me they would accomplish the same thing -- but I'm not sure if they actually are.

-Ben

• 2.  RE: Difference between Interfaces configured to a VLAN versus VLANs with interfaces added in PORTs tab
    Best Answer

Posted 09-30-2014 23:25

Hi Ben,

This comes down to a decision that was made in Junos a long time ago (when the EXs were first released).

Basically there was an argument about whether VLAN membership should be attached to physical ports, the way it was done on the M, T and MX routers at the time, or whether physical ports should be assigned to VLANs, the way other vendor's switches did it at the time .

In the end, both methods were implemented, which is why the GUI and CLI lets you do things both ways.

If you go into Switching in the GUI and add a port to the VLAN, your config change will be:

[edit interfaces]
    +   fe-0/0/5 {
    +       unit 0 {
    +           family ethernet-switching;
    +       }
    +   }
    [edit vlans VID11]
    +   interface {
    +       fe-0/0/5.0;
    +   }

if you go into the physical port and add the VLAN there, it will be:

[edit interfaces]
    +   fe-0/0/5 {
    +       unit 0 {
    +           family ethernet-switching {
    +               port-mode access;
    +               vlan {