SRX Services Gateway
Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway

Forwarding traffic to F5

‎03-03-2013 03:17 AM

Hi all,

I'm trying to lab up this http://www.scottyob.com/pub/Untitled-15-20130303-211854.jpg such that only traffic that should be load balanced hits the F5.  I'm trying to avoid SNAT using filter based forwarding.  So far I've come up with the following config: http://pastebin.com/pRwAkCcN 

HTTP traffic to the VIP address on the F5 1.1.1.10 gets re-written then sent to my back-end web-server 1.2.3.4.  I can see the web server receiving the packet from the external host 10.69.69.10 then I can see replies attempted to be sent back.  Running tcpdump on the F5, it never gets the packets from 1.2.3.4 so never gets a change to replace the destination address.  Instead I get the following errors in my trace http://pastebin.com/TyvMAVJw 

I'm pretty new to this policy based routing so am having a hard time trying to decipher why it's dropping those packets instead of forwarding it to the next-hop 1.1.1.2 (the F5).  Help would be much appreciated here 🙂

Thanks,

Scotty O'Brien

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway

Re: Forwarding traffic to F5

‎03-04-2013 06:32 AM

Hi Scotty,

Seems relatively simple - issues I can see:

1. Your firewall filter should reference tcp source portas that's what it will see on the return traffic (i.e. the traffic from the client/F5 to the web server has a destination port of 80, the return traffic has a source port of 80:

firewall {
        filter f5-forwards {
            term HTTP {
                from {
                    protocol tcp;
                    source-port 80;
                }
                then {
                    routing-instance F5;
                }
            }
            term accept {
                then accept;

}

}
    }

The rest of the firewall filter looks fine.