SRX

last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  JUNOS beginners guide and SRX1400

Posted 02-10-2012 13:44

folks

my company is buying a couple of srx1400s to act as application firewalls, something like the citrix netscaler

i'm new to junos so i'm looking to start from the beginning and need some advice on the best way forward so i have a few questions

- can someone recommend a juniper guide for junos (cli and gui)

- can i run the same version of junos used on the srx1400 in gns3?

- what version of junos should i be looking at

thanks to anyone taking the time to reply

• 2.  RE: JUNOS beginners guide and SRX1400
    Best Answer

Posted 02-10-2012 14:26

A good place are the "Day One" books.

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/Day-One-Books/Day-One-Book-Deploying-SRX-Series-Services-Gateways/ba-p/52398

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/Day-One-Books/Day-One-Book-Configuring-SRX-Series-with-J-Web-NEW-EDITION/ba-p/61522

There are training materials, lessons and labs posted on the "Fast Track" portal.  The Security "SEC" series is what applies to the SRX.
    https://learningportal.juniper.net/juniper/user_fasttrack_home.aspx

Not exactly, there are a number of basic functions that work fine in gns3 but a number also do not work.  Essentially anything that relies on hardware for implementation does not function in this virtual environment.

JTAC maintains a recommendation kb for versions by platform.  These are considered the most stable version for production.  But any release will be supported for calls if you need features in the newer releases.
    http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB21476

• 3.  RE: JUNOS beginners guide and SRX1400

Posted 02-10-2012 14:30

Well I would recommend starting with the Juniper Day One guides.

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/Day-One-Books/bg-p/Day1Books

Exploring the Junos CLI

ConfiguringJunos Basics

Junos Monitoring & Troubleshooting