SRX

last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Next-table looping not an issue with SRX?

Posted 08-17-2013 21:23

Hello,

I'm currently studying for JNCIP-SEC, and I came across a paragraph, as below:

"One more method exists to route between routing instances, using the next-table option of a static route. This option has specific unidirectional applications and is not a generally preferred method dude to the possibility of looping traffic between routing instances on Junos stateless devices. However, this method becomes more useful with Junos security devices because bidirectional flow is enabled once the session is established. Recall that routing (and its reverse path) is set up in the first packet flow"

I understand how you can get a next-table routing loop, but I don't see how the bidirectional flow is meant to alleviate that. My understanding is that if I had a next-table loop in an SRX, then route-lookup process would never complete due to infinite recursion and the session wouldn't establish in the first place.

Is my understanding correct, or am I missing something from that paragraph?

Thanks in advance.

• 2.  RE: Next-table looping not an issue with SRX?
    Best Answer

Posted 08-18-2013 00:30

Hello,

To create recursion between 2 tables, You need something like this:

set routing-instances A routing-options static route X.Y.Z.W next-table B.inet.0
    set routing-instances B routing-options static route X.Y.Z.W next-table A.inet.0

JUNOS won't allow You to commit that.

However, You might have a legit bidir packet stream with src.IP W.Z.Y.X and dst.ip X.Y.Z.W, going between interfaces in RI A & B. Then You would need this config to let it pass:

set routing-instances A routing-options static route X.Y.Z.W next-table B.inet.0
    set routing-instances B routing-options static route W.Z.Y.X next-table A.inet.0

JUNOS won't let You to commit it either.