SRX

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  SRX Multicast Configuration

Posted 05-22-2012 05:52

Hi,

I'm new to JunOS, but so far loving it compared to Cisco, but I'm having touble with multicasting. This isn't something I've done before and I'm finding information on it a little scarce.

I have three SRX210 routers setup (in lab) with each router connected to each other with a /30 layer 3 link running OSPF. On the first router I have 2 video encoders running in multicast broadcastng to 239.0.0.1 and 239.0.0.2. On the third router I have 4 video decoders, two for each encoder.

This works fine if I have just 1 encoder running, but as soon as I turn on the second one I get packet order issues. I've plugged my laptop into one of the ports the decoders sit on and found that the router is just flooding the network with my multicast traffice.

My question is, how do I get the router to only send the traffic to the ports that need it for the specific stream?

Thanks

Andrew.

• 2.  RE: SRX Multicast Configuration

Posted 05-22-2012 07:35

can you post your config(s)?

are the decoders in the same VLAN on the SRX?  If so, I would try to enable igmp-snooping for the VLAN they are on.  That should cause it to only forward the multicast to the ports that it has seen IGMP Joins come in.

will

• 3.  RE: SRX Multicast Configuration

Posted 06-05-2012 10:02

Sorry for the delay in replying.

I have now got this working, almost.

You were right about igmp-snooping and this has indeed stopped the packet flooding, however, I now see lots of packet errors when I have two encoders on the network but it's not a result of flooding.

I thoughts this may be a software / hardware issue so I have got an SRX240B unit to compare the setup to, but now I am unable to get the layer 3 routing of multicast packets to work.

My protocols and security section looks like this (on the SRX240)

protocols {
        igmp;