SRX Services Gateway
Highlighted
SRX Services Gateway

SRX240 setup problems

‎05-04-2018 05:54 PM

I am a novice at JunOS and am just getting my feet wet in setting up this SRX240 device. I got past the first stumble which was the device not running JWeb until a root password was set, and now have JWeb running.

This device is being used to run an extensive home network that has approximately 120 devices hooked up to it - bitcoin miners, 8-10 computers at any one time, multiple NAS devices with ~100 TB storage, 2 PS4s, 2 Xboxes, TVs, Blu-ray players, a stereo running an internet radio, etc. I previously was running this through a Netgear Nighthawk R8000 but found that the R8000 was overheating and needing frequent resets. Therefore I upped my game to a router that could handle the traffic. My hope is to eventually bring my business server in house instead of using a hosting service.

Two issues (at least) now. I ran through the setup wizard and set up port 0 as the internet port connected to the cable modem, set up a DMZ on ports 2-4 for future use of my business web site, and set ports 5-15 up as Internal. I then set a zone policy (temporarily) with all services and ports open on the Internal network. I am a newbie at JunOS, and just wanted to test the configuration. I will of course later set up some restrictions on the Internal network.

First of all, when using the wizard the SRX240 creates a vlan1 connection that supposedly contains all of the chassis ports 5-15, but although it asks about what connections to allow the wizard apparently does not create a zone policy for these chassis ports. I had to go and manually add a policy for each of these ports.