The New Mobile Network
SteveShaw , Regular Visitor
The New Mobile Network
IoT Day: Mo’ Connections, Mo’ Problems
Apr 9, 2015

My connected alarm clock (no joke – it’s tethered to the national atomic clock) blared at 6 am this morning and amid me coming to my senses, I was immediately reminded that today is none other than Internet of Things day. No, it doesn’t quite have the cache of St Patrick’s Day or Dia de la Muertos, but the way things are getting connected these days, it’s soon to have the largest pool of participants (some 50 billion “things” could soon have new life through an Internet connection, if estimates are to be believed). And, hey, I sell networks for a living, so today happens to have a special place in my heart.

IoT Day_5.png

How connected are things these days? For one, I was on conference call recently when a minute before the hour my smartphone dropped my call and I can only assume it was because it noticed an 11 a.m. meeting on my calendar with my boss (not that the cell network glitched.  At what point does my phone tell me what time I need to leave the office to make sure I’m home in time for dinner with my wife in this Bay Area traffic? 

Just a few years ago something as simple as meeting reminders was taken for granted. Heck, phones made calls and sent messages; they didn’t help us run our lives and try to make us more efficient human beings.

There’s no doubt that connecting devices will change the way we live and work - but what can a networking vendor do to ensure the world’s propensity for connectivity is managed responsibly and effectively at the same time? Sorting out what’s important, and what needs to be measured, tracked or recorded, becomes a compelling conversation.